It’s really Michigan

All colored in (mostly)

All colored in (mostly)

I was checking out the mailing address for my commission and, lo and behold, it’s really going to Grand Rapids, Michigan, not Georgia. The zip code looked wrong to me for Georgia and sure enough, it was really in Michigan.  Slight mistake by the buyer, but all’s well that ends well.  I’m glad I checked.  The zip was right so it probably would have gotten there eventually, but no need to tempt fate, I say.

I worked on the color the last few days and am pretty satisfied.  The brick was hard to do.  The two sets of photos, taken years apart, showed very different brown color combinations and I had to ask which was closer to the real thing.  One set had definite peach undertones to it, complimenting the half moon inserts and the other showed a much darker combination of browns.  I went with the lighter combo.

I really like the flower boxes and the colorful front landscaping.  It really adds to the overall effect of the house.  The little gate also adds a point of interest.  I know the ivy on the right doesn’t shows light in this photo, but it looks fine on the real thing.

One more session for tweaking tomorrow and then its’s of to its destination – northern instead of southern.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. createarteveryday
    May 24, 2015 @ 21:21:03

    This is gorgeous work. Really exquisite. Well done!

    Reply

  2. Cindy Dauer
    May 25, 2015 @ 20:12:51

    Terrific! I really love the design and color of those upstairs windows.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      May 25, 2015 @ 20:28:05

      I like all of the windows, too. I bet the new owners took out the window boxes because they were a lot of work. The house exterior is the worse for it, though.

      Reply

  3. Carol King
    Jun 01, 2015 @ 18:30:09

    Great job, I know your clients will be thrilled.

    Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Jun 05, 2015 @ 16:25:06

    I love it! Good job, Ruth!

    Reply

  5. mysiteexists
    Jun 30, 2015 @ 10:49:57

    Oooh,gosh! I saw ur all previous posts n then decided to write up my comment over here, cause I would like to know that how u make these master pieces (have u made them by using water colors!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

