Finished Inking

Inking completed

Inking completed

Well, I must say I am pretty pleased with the portrait so far. It was a little complicated using older pictures for the landscaping and newer ones for the structure itself, but it turned out fine.  I ended up doing the left and right landscaping last because I had to determine what I needed to do.  The right side views conflicted, new and old, and the left was partially blocked by a car.  I thought long and hard how to resolve the issues.

I laid down the preliminary pastels today but it will still take several days to finish. It is so large I have to stand at my table when I work on the upper area.  And after I do finish, I will need to let it sit for a day to get fresh eyes.  Even if I finish it by the weekend, I may wait until after the holiday to send it out.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DixCutler
    May 18, 2015 @ 20:19:59

    Looks classy.

    Reply

  2. Sand Salt Moon
    May 18, 2015 @ 21:10:40

    I am amazed by the work and craftsmanship that you put into this … so fine.

    Reply

  3. ruthsartwork
    May 18, 2015 @ 22:28:00

    Thanks. Portrait work is my favorite thing to do, so it’s nice when I am asked to do something as a keepsake.

    Reply

  4. Gray Dawster
    May 21, 2015 @ 04:17:03

    As always Ruth,
    a superb piece of art 🙂

    Andro xx

    Reply

  5. Cindy Dauer
    May 22, 2015 @ 08:13:59

    A beauty! I love those window boxes and the manicured hedges!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      May 22, 2015 @ 09:15:23

      I love it too. The boxes have bright red impatiens and the hosta is a blue green. Too bad the new owners ripped it all out. It is not nearly as attractive.

      Reply

  6. lesliepaints
    May 22, 2015 @ 12:28:28

    This is going to be worth the extra time and effort. So good!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      May 22, 2015 @ 16:24:02

      Thanks. It is so much bigger than what I usually do that it seems like a long time working on it. I plan to finish it up tomorrow and it will go out on Tuesday. They’ll have plenty of time for framing.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

