Runner Drawing

Running on the trails

Running on the trails

Most of you that follow my blog know that I rarely do figurative work. I have been asked to create an image of a runner and I am going to do my best to try. Since I haven’t done much like that, I know I’m going to need to practice up.  I took some of my photos and made these two as a first stab at it.  These aren’t too bad for a first stab at it, but I think I’ll have to keep at it, so over the next few months I will be occasionally posting my efforts.  Hopefully after a dozen tries, I’ll get this where I want it.

I have my next architectural in mind already.  Back to Jasper for one more streetscape.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sand Salt Moon
    Apr 22, 2015 @ 15:27:30

    Good capturing of movement – I feel the stride. Nice!

    Reply

  2. rebecca
    Apr 24, 2015 @ 06:39:09

    Yes, I feel you have captured the perspective of the feet and legs very well…I can feel the stride as well!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Apr 24, 2015 @ 14:29:20

      For the first tryout, I think it looks pretty good. I want to keep it somewhat sketchy at this stage and not overdo the colors. For my skill level, I think less is more at this time. LOL

      Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:31:33

    Approach it like you approach your pet portraits, Ruth. The facial features on this of the whole figure is not as important as the form of the figure while he runs. Don’t know if that will help you, but value and cross contours, the wrinkles, correctly rendered in the clothing will all help to bring this forward. Check out painting “little people” on You Tube. Here is my post that has a couple links to them: https://lesliepaints.wordpress.com/2013/12/02/little-people-in-the-landscape/
    I think you have a good start on this! Good job!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Apr 24, 2015 @ 14:26:19

      Thanks, Leslie. He actually wants a view from behind and at a distance. I am trying to get myself into “figure” mode for this and doing some closeups should help. I did think of the pet portrait work, too.

      Reply

  4. Carol King
    Apr 24, 2015 @ 16:07:11

    First stab???? These are great. I rarely do figures because they end up looking like aliens.

    Reply

  5. lindahalcombfineart
    Apr 26, 2015 @ 08:38:20

    I like the side view best. It shows movement and the posture is very realistic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

