Playing hooky

New aceos

New aceos

I must admit to playing hooky over the last week.  The weather has been warming up and while I had to dodge some rain, I was able to do my “fall cleanup” for a few days.  The flower beds are ready for spring weeding and as soon as it dries up some, I’ll be out there pulling grass, dandelions, and other assorted weeds that have already sprung up.  The redbuds are fully blooming and the dogwoods are coming on.  My red dogwood survived the winter cold and the deer with most of the flowers intact. so I am happy about that.  The daffodils are almost done though.  I have been picking them to put in the kitchen, but they haven’t lasted over long.  It is still early to buy any flowers for planting, but I’m getting the urge to.  We are having a high deer fence put around our garden this spring because we are tired of the deer, raccoons, rabbits, possums, etc. eating up everything including the fruit trees.  I might as well just been giving the wildlife the money the last few years.  LOL

I did spend some time making some new aceo/gift tags.  I have my next project in mind, but I have to do some photo research before I can start.  Here’s a peek at the aceos.  I’ll be listing some of them in the next few days.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. foresterartist
    Apr 21, 2015 @ 14:51:11

    Hah! This is how Ruth does “Spring Break!” You are a wild thing aren’t you? 😜. Love your flower BTW.

    Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:34:11

    Your tags are so bright and colorful! I like when you post them al together like this. I hear you about spring clean up. Did that and mowed twice already. Then got hit with frost the last two nights. Brrrr!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Apr 24, 2015 @ 14:33:31

      I like to do them as a break from the more detailed work, plus I need to add them to my easy store. I can’t post them yet, because found out I had run out of sleeves.

      We have cut the grass twice already too. The frosts got down to us also and fortunately it didn’t seem too hard. I am most worried about my peach blossoms and my Japanese maples. That late hard frost after an early spring a few years ago almost killed my best maple tree, so I am always afraid for it.

      Reply

  3. Carol King
    Apr 24, 2015 @ 16:11:11

    The tags are fun and brightly colored. Very cheery. I remember my brother once planted some tulip bulbs and the next morning the squirrels had dug them up and eaten half of them. We got more and replanted them with hot pepper on them. I think that worked.

    Reply

  4. lindahalcombfineart
    Apr 26, 2015 @ 08:36:56

    I love these. They are so FULL of spring color.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

