The Victorian is inked

The inked Victorian

The inked Victorian

I spent several days inking in the Victorian house.  It was somewhat more complicated than you might think.  There was a lot of secondary detail drawing as I moved through the various parts of the portrait.  I first did most of the lower landscaping including the front tree and then the windows and screened porch and called it a day. The screen porch took a lot of concentration so it didn’t get too dark.  I do like to move all around as I work on a piece so that I don’t over work an area and can keep the lights and darks balanced.

The next day I moved to the fish scale shingles and siding.  Again, that needed a lot of preliminary pencil layout so the siding and the shingles didn’t get bunched up.  Then I worked on the upper windows, barely visible behind the tree.  I couldn’t make them too visible or it would look odd behind the foliage.  Lastly, I inked in the background foliage and touched up various places that I thought needed something extra.  After I apply the color I will probably redefine some areas, mostly the semi-hidden upper windows.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DixCutler
    Mar 22, 2015 @ 15:32:08

    Love Victorian homes (even though ours kept us broke for 22 years!). This looks great, Ruth.

    Reply

  2. Cindy Dauer
    Mar 22, 2015 @ 16:50:37

    Looking gorgeous! And don’t worry, we can tell it is complicated! 😀

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Apr 06, 2015 @ 10:41:43

    I like the black and white of this. A lot!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Apr 07, 2015 @ 09:12:35

      Yes, if I hadn’t had to color it, it would have been fun to layer in the depth in the foliage. I would have to be careful, because of the darkness of the screened porch.

      Reply

  4. MAGNY TJELTA
    May 13, 2015 @ 13:33:15

    I love this drawing. Thank you for sharing your work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

