Pretty greens and blues in Jasper 2

Jasper 2

Jasper 2

Even though I worked on this streetscape over several days, I had a hard time with the green for some reason. The color would not lay evenly and even slicked up and separated some yellow out.  I don’t think I ever used this particular color so thickly and I am not sure I like the way it performed.  The color is interesting though and makes quite a statement.  Looking at it after some days remove, I think I need to rework the area at the left corner, under the overhang.  It looks slightly wonky to me and I think a small adjustment with the pen will fix it.  I still like all of the vivid colors that the store owners have chosen.

Lion

Lion

Now, here are two older pieces for the challenge.  I looked at quite a few of my older works and I have used far more of them in the early days than I thought I did.  I selected several and looked back to see if I had published them before and unfortunately I have used most of what I had.  Still, here are two more.

California creamery

California creamery

I saw Mr. Lion at a zoo and I took the photo for the creamery while I was at a family wedding in northern California.  The creamery photo is under glass already so the colors are not precisely true.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sand Salt Moon
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 17:29:33

    I’ve been to Jasper. This is lovely…

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Mar 13, 2015 @ 00:08:59

      Thanks. I was down there for an art exhibit and we took some photos when i went back to pick up my artwork. I was surprised and pleased that the town square looked so great. Many small town squares have not been able to stay so alive.

      Reply

  2. Cindy Dauer
    Mar 13, 2015 @ 19:52:01

    I love the bright green! Also the yellow window trim at the top. Looks terrific!

    Reply

  3. foresterartist
    Mar 17, 2015 @ 14:54:37

    Very nice Ruth. Love them all.

    Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Mar 21, 2015 @ 01:16:22

    I think the green works just fine. I’m not sure the color laying flat is all that important if it gives a feeling of reflected light to it. Good job!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Mar 21, 2015 @ 09:50:03

      The texture of the paint was overly slick when I layered it. I never had trouble with it before, but I never used it so concentrated. I have decided I do like the effect though.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

