Starting the color on Jasper

Jasper streetscape

Jasper streetscape

I’ve started the watercolors on the second Jasper streetscape. I need to let it dry totally before I add more depth and shading tomorrow. How do you like these colors? Jasper’s town square is a pretty lively colored place.  I really like the bold green and blue accents. This should be a nice companion to the last one when it is finished.

Florida commission

Florida commission

Last week, Tim Livingston (whose blog is linked on my blog roll) asked me to join an art challenge of posting 3 pieces every day for 5 days.  I can’t quite manage every day but here are two older pieces.  Part of the problem is that 4+ years ago when I started this blog (I can hardly believe it has been that long), I posted a lot of my older pieces to get me by until I knew were I was going with it.  I have had to dig around and take some new photos as well as go through some earlier photographs. I came across this Florida pen and ink commission which I have always liked.

Father and daughter

Father and daughter

And lastly for today, there is this one.  I rarely do people, but I did this of John and our daughter a few months after she was born.  For obvious reasons, it is one of my favorite pieces.  And it’s not too bad either.

More to come with my next post.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. foresterartist
    Mar 08, 2015 @ 14:24:09

    Wow Ruth, these are great!

    Reply

  2. thatssojacob
    Mar 08, 2015 @ 14:24:29

    Very nice. Kind of an old-world style, color wise. Looks almost european.

    Reply

  3. DixCutler
    Mar 13, 2015 @ 19:37:17

    Great – love all that color in the street scape. Also love the one you did of father and daughter 😉

    Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Mar 21, 2015 @ 01:13:37

    Jasper just pops beautifully! Love the Whimsy store! Also like your portrait, Ruth.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

