Jasper #I, Finished

jasper streetscape

jasper streetscape

I have been getting over my cold and was able to spend time finishing up the latest streetscape.  I deepened all of the colors and added in the shading and am pretty pleased with the way it turned out.  I was putting in some of the shadows when John came by and looked.  He said, “You are putting in purple for the shadows?”  And I said, “Yes, I am.  But I won’t leave it that way.”  It took me a long time to become comfortable with not just making shadows with grays and dark browns, but it is really much better.  Sometimes experimentation does work and you learn something new.

I’m just going to be moving down the street for the next drawing.  I have about three more good views of the square to use and they are all uniquely colored.  It’s nice to see that this town has been able to keep their main square vibrantly alive.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. decorartuk
    Feb 25, 2015 @ 11:57:42

    Love it. Looks great. Kristina

    Reply

  2. DixCutler
    Feb 25, 2015 @ 12:20:44

    Love this one. I remember the excitement when I found I could get shadows to coe to life with color!

    Reply

  3. Gray Dawster
    Feb 26, 2015 @ 03:54:28

    You have excelled as always Ruth 🙂

    Andro

    Reply

  4. Cindy Dauer
    Mar 01, 2015 @ 17:18:14

    Gorgeous! I love the purple. And so many wonderful details!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

