A start on the watercolors

Preliminary watercolors

Preliminary watercolors

This is only about half finished, but I thought I’d post a progress picture.  The weather here this week  hasn’t been good with close to 12″ of snow over 3 snowfalls and some serious windchills, so I probably should have gotten more done, but I am fighting a bad cold too and I haven’t felt much like working.

As you can see, the colors are quite a vibrant mix of reds, greens, and yellows.  I have just the basics down so far, with not much in the way of depth yet, but over the next few days, I’ll try to get it finished.  I really like the bold color combinations of the bricks and trim.  There is so much more character here than compared with modern architectural taste.  I think it’s why I love small town buildings so much.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DixCutler
    Feb 22, 2015 @ 18:51:03

    Must have taken ages to ink all the blinds in those windows!

    Reply

  2. foresterartist
    Feb 23, 2015 @ 19:26:34

    It’s looking so good Ruth!

    Reply

  3. Gray Dawster
    Feb 24, 2015 @ 04:09:40

    Awesome as ever Ruth 🙂
    Have a great Tuesday, soon
    be the weekend 😉 lol

    Andro xx

    Reply

  4. Cindy Dauer
    Feb 25, 2015 @ 06:14:53

    I am with you on the fighting a bad cold. It is day 8 for me! I really thought it would be over sooner. Ugh. I hope we both recover quickly!

    The streetscape is looking wonderful of course! I just love the way you do the windows, both the detailed ones above, and the street windows with the wares inside. Lovely!

    Reply

  5. lesliepaints
    Feb 25, 2015 @ 11:42:21

    I like it when you do these old town buildings. Yes. You have a lot of character in this piece! I so admire what you do with architecture!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

