Rural Indiana streetscape

Jasper streetscape

Jasper streetscape

This turned out to be a rather complicated drawing to ink. There is a wide variety of colored trim and brickwork that I had to account for in the inking even before I colored it.  Because of the detail involved, I am tending towards using the watercolors. It is much easier to manipulate the brushes in small areas than the pastels.  I am going to do it in a realistic style rather than the splashed on abstract.  It may take a while to work this through, but it should be fun. I will probably do more scenes from the town square.  Many of the stores have vibrant coloring which makes it an interesting project.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DixCutler
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 12:07:33

    Wow – that’s a lot of work.

    Reply

  2. Cindy Dauer
    Feb 19, 2015 @ 17:22:15

    Holy cow, amazing detail! This is my favorite kind of thing you make! 🙂

    Reply

  3. decorartuk
    Feb 25, 2015 @ 12:17:33

    I thought that you colour your sketches first and only then add all the detail in ink. How do you manage not to smudge the ink using watercolour? K.

    P.S. If you ever want to do a guest blog post on my blog about the whole process… 😉

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Feb 25, 2015 @ 13:03:54

      Hi. I make sure I use a waterproof ink when I use the watercolors. I usually wait a day between the inking and the coloring, so it is totally dry anyway. It doesn’t matter so much when I use the pastels, but I keep it simple and use the same ink for both.

      What would you want in a guest post? I enjoyed your blog so I added it to my blogroll.

      Reply

      • decorartuk
        Feb 25, 2015 @ 13:41:38

        Hello once again, Ruth. I’m really glad to hear you liked my blog, thank you for adding it to your Blogroll. I like yours and I have added it to my list of “Amazing People – Lovely Bloggers” (on the right hand side of my blog).

        I’ve never used waterproof ink. I’ll have to have a look in the local art supplies shop. I’ve done some illustrations in watercolour and ink, but I colour first and only then work on the details. Here’s one: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/524106475360459248/

        As for the guest blog post – I guess it would be interesting to show some of your artwork, it woud be brilliant if you could tell my readers what inspires you and how long it takes you to complete one piece. What do you think? if you have any questions please send me an e-mail: decorartuk@gmail.com

        K.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

