Printed linocuts

Black and white print

Black and white print

I worked on the linocuts yesterday.  I like the way the black and white print turned out.  There are not really any decisions for this print, just ink and go.  Still, the reverse print always is a bit of a surprise after looking at the block.

Colored studio print

Colored studio print

I had to think somewhat for the watercolored version.  How much and how dark to make the colors is always the main decision.  I varied the green some to add depth and added some maroon/pink flowers.  The real question I had was if I should color in the studio building at all.  I left it yesterday with all of the vegetation done, but the building the stark paper white.  It appealed to me that way somewhat, but I knew I’d want to look at it again later with fresh eyes.  Today it seemed a bit much so I lightly added color for a stuccoed effect.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy Dauer
    Feb 01, 2015 @ 15:24:36

    These are great! I have a slight preference for the black and white version, but if you could make the black darker on the second version then the tones would be more distinct. Well, that is my uneducated guess! It looks like such a pretty place!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Feb 01, 2015 @ 20:16:38

      Thanks, Cindy. I have a lot more trouble with the print process on the heavier paper for the watercolors I need to find a smoother paper and maybe that would print more evenly. Sometimes I can get a more solid print and at other times it is more patchy. It’s frustrating.

      Reply

  2. Gray Dawster
    Feb 05, 2015 @ 04:11:32

    You always add such quality in your posts
    Ruth and thank you for this my sweet friend…

    Andro xx

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Feb 25, 2015 @ 11:36:55

    Oh!!!! I love your linocuts!!!!! You are getting so good at this! I have the same problems when I go to add color to my gouache resists that I create. The ink does something to the paper and the pigments respond differently, maybe? I don’t know. You know, there are several that I have just left black and white. These are good!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Feb 25, 2015 @ 11:51:19

      this is the first “real architectural” linocut I have done and I think it turned out well. Since I paint in the uninked areas I don’t have the problem of that change. It’s more of getting an even black print first. I do have to be careful because the ink is water based and if I get too carried away, it will run into the watercolors.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

