An architectural linocut

Studio linocut

Studio linocut

I was watching the British Antiques Roadshow program today and it gave me an idea for my next project.  Someone had brought in a lovely architectural woodcut to be appraised and I really liked it.  While I am sure mine is not as good as the one I saw, I am relatively pleased with it.  You may recognize the subject matter.  It is the same studio that was accepted into the art show last summer.

It is hard to really delineate the various plantings with the limited tools I have, but I tried to to vary the cuts to indicate different foliages.  I will let it sit until tomorrow to see what I might want to change.  This view of the cut gives a good idea of what a black and white print would look like.  I think it would also look pretty good in a colored version.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gray Dawster
    Jan 30, 2015 @ 03:30:32

    This is brilliant work Ruth 🙂
    Have a wonderful Friday with
    lots of excitement 🙂

    Andro xx

    Reply

  2. lindahalcombfineart
    Jan 30, 2015 @ 07:26:50

    Ruth, I am very impressed. Do you do many woodcuts? Is this on a lino block? Are you familiar with the work of Gustave Baumann? The IMA will have a large exhibit of his wood block prints this fall. His work shimmers with light. I like to sit and look and learn.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jan 30, 2015 @ 09:55:26

      Thanks, Linda. I haven’t ever done a woodcut. I don’t have the tools. I did some linocuts way back in college so that is what I have. I think the details in the few woodcuts I have seen are so fantastic. It is so hard to think in reverse and keep fine details for these. Fortunately I like to work with the balances of black and white, so that is a help.

      Reply

  3. lindahalcombfineart
    Jan 30, 2015 @ 07:34:47

    Ruth, I went back and looked at your 2012 prints. I love the print you made of a shore bird. One idea you could consider is to do a wet on wet mingle of color on the paper before you do your print in black. Just a thought.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

