An arctic fox

Little arctic fox

Little arctic fox

I felt like doing some sort of animal work this week so I looked through my photos and found this one.  I took it years and years ago, but I still like his restful pose.  He fits right in  with this chilly winter weather. That pose sure would keep him warm.

I penciled him up and then used the ink pen to sketch him in.  I had some suitable colors on the watercolor pallet from the last painting, so I went ahead and used them.   I used a burnt umber with some added brown, lamp black and a maroonish highlights, especially to the rocks.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy Dauer
    Jan 17, 2015 @ 13:13:30

    He is adorable! Beautifully merging with the surrounding hills. You’re so right, it’s a great pose!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jan 17, 2015 @ 15:56:36

      Thanks, Cindy. He does kind of blend in with his surroundings. I don’t remember what zoo I took the picture at, but it I do have several pictures of him. In one, he is still curled up, but looking at the surroundings. Maybe I do that one too and sell the,m as a pair.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

