Whew, it’s off for Christmas

Pretty red brick

Pretty red brick

The latest commission went out in the mail yesterday. I don’t often do a picture quite that quickly, but I wanted to make sure it had time to get to its destination. I had a request for a pet portrait for Christmas over the weekend, but I decided to decline. I could have done it in time, but I would have been betting with the postal gods to get it there.  I don’t need the angst.

When I look at this one and the last one, they are so similar that at a brief glance, you might think they were the same.  Front porch, dark shutters, garage on the left, red brick, big front lawn.  This one was a little bit more of a challenge because of the smaller portrait size.  It was harder to get the detail in, so she got a slightly bigger size for free.  I just didn’t want to compromise by making the building smaller to fit a 10×8 size.  I ended up widening it to about 12×8 and was much happier with the effect.

She wanted to include the maple tree in on the left and I decided that would help the edges of the house.  The landscaping is mature, so that was easier.  I sketched the dog in on the lower right.  She knew he would be small given the scale of the building, but she felt his inclusion would add to the overall impact for the recipients.  I was happy to comply.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gray Dawster
    Dec 18, 2014 @ 03:16:12

    Ruth this is absolutely brilliant,
    and amongst the best that I have
    seen of your great work 🙂

    Merry Christmas to you, just in case
    I don’t get back here before Santa sets
    off on his many travels 🙂

    Andro xx

    Reply

  2. Cindy D.
    Dec 19, 2014 @ 08:05:01

    Another beautiful house! I love that red tree. (I think i want a red tree for the yard. Maybe I’ll go looking in the Spring.) I think they’ll love the image with the dog there, too! Hooray for another completion!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Dec 19, 2014 @ 08:42:38

      Thanks, Cindy. I believe it is a red Japanese maple. I have 2 of them in my front yard and love them. They are somewhat slow growing, but usually develop into interesting shapes.

      Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Jan 10, 2015 @ 16:47:32

    This is beautiful, Ruth! I like it better because of the inclusion of the tree for depth and the dog to personalize it. What a wonderful idea! Beautiful work!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jan 10, 2015 @ 20:09:22

      Thanks, Leslie. She asked if both could be included and it is always nice to be able to do a little bit extra for a client. The slightly larger size actually made it easier to do. The house was quite large to fit to 10×8. She was happy with it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

