All colored up

Pastels on the commission

Pastels on the commission

The picture went out on Monday.  I used mostly the pastels for the color, but did some fine work with the colored pencils.  There is so much detail crammed into the space, that I needed to edge some areas with the pencils to neaten them up. The finished drawing is a bit browner and less red for the bricks in the photo, but all in all, it turned out fine.  Since it is a newer home, I enlarged the greenery and added some flowers.  I almost forgot to put in the wicker bench and side table on the porch but luckily noticed it before it was too late.  There were also some wreaths on the doors which added a bit of color under there

The buyer is happy it is getting out so soon because he might be able to get it framed in time for Christmas.  Now I’m back to deciding what my next project will be.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cadpaint
    Dec 10, 2014 @ 17:18:16

    Beautiful! I have tried combining coloured pencils with pastels, I love the finer quality it gives, but I find the wax of the pencils tend to repel the pastels. I use Prismacolours and professional soft pastels. Do you have this problem?

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Dec 10, 2014 @ 19:37:25

      Hi, cadpaint. I always use the pastels first and mostly use the colored pencils to help with edging near the end of a picture or maybe for highlights. I use faber castel hard pastels rather than soft pastels. I sometimes I have sprayed it already with some fixative so the colored pencil sits on top. I have never worked with soft pastels, so I can’t help you there.

      Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Dec 11, 2014 @ 22:09:27

    You can say that again, about all the detail. Awesome, Ruth!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

