Phoenix color

Southwestern stucco house

Southwestern stucco house

Coloring this one was a little harder than it might seem. Stucco is always a challenge because of its lack of definition. I tried to use color variation to indicate texture and I think it turned out well.  Thank heavens for the greenery though.  It would have looked awfully stark, or just much plainer, without the addition of the shrubs. However, I must admit I am partial to having living landscaping around any building.  The tile roof was a first for me too.  It was a kind of pinky, orange color which tied in nicely with the brick sidewalk accents.  Anyway, it’s already packaged and off in the mail tomorrow.

I received another Christmas home portrait commission last week.  It should be fun to do and now I don’t have to make a decision on my next project.  I pick up the pictures today and will start the pencil sketch tomorrow.  My goal is to have it ready to go out next Monday.  Quick work, but doable.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JEFF WEISS
    Nov 30, 2014 @ 09:52:49

    Hi Ruth… I liked your work..

    Reply

  2. DixCutler
    Nov 30, 2014 @ 11:41:07

    Like it – love the roof tiles.

    Reply

  3. Cindy D.
    Dec 01, 2014 @ 07:56:11

    Great job with the roof and all the window and door detail! Looks terrific and I’m sure the owner will be thrilled!

    Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Dec 01, 2014 @ 23:57:51

    Really awesome! You got the stucco to read so well! Tile roof, too!

    Reply

  5. Gray Dawster
    Dec 09, 2014 @ 04:46:17

    Wow this looks truly awesome Ruth
    I am amazed at the quality of your work,
    it looks absolutely mint my dear 🙂

    Have a very happy Tuesday Ruth and keep up your brilliant artistry 🙂

    Andro xx

    Reply

  6. ruthsartwork
    Dec 09, 2014 @ 08:18:23

    Thanks, Andro. The person that commissioned it was pleased too. It is to be a Christmas gift.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

