The Marine Museum

The Marine Museum

The Marine Museum

After a short delay for a family trip, I am finally close to finishing the Marine Museum black and white.  I might add a bit more to the water area, but I did not want to overdo it on the first go around.  Water is definitely not my forte.  I may add more in the grassy area to darken it up and ground the building more.  It is definitely a different mindset for a black and white drawing versus a colored one.  The importance of the positive/negative balance is much more important – and there is no erasing the ink once it has been laid down.  It actually can take longer than a colored picture because I have to look at it again and again to see what to do next.  Overall, I am happy and will finish it up tomorrow.  I don’t expect to do too much.  I still wonder what those curved spars are for though.

I have caught up with the commissions now, except for one where I am waiting on further pictures.  Unfortunately they seem to be in no rush to get them to me in time for it to be finished for Christmas.  I think I’ll look at my etsy store and see what I need to add to it.  Maybe some new aceo/gift tags.  It is about time to switch some new things in and old things that haven’t sold out.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DixCutler
    Nov 09, 2014 @ 16:34:30

    Nice work, Ruth.
    I’ve lived on West Coast all my life. Pretty sure those are boat davits (for pulling small rowboats up)

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Nov 09, 2014 @ 17:07:06

    I guessed it might be something like that. Thanks.

    Reply

  3. foresterartist
    Nov 09, 2014 @ 19:50:47

    This is looking great, Ruth!

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Nov 09, 2014 @ 20:29:53

    Thanks, Tim. It is rather a unique looking building.

    Reply

  5. Cindy D
    Nov 10, 2014 @ 08:26:25

    Looks terrific, so many nice details!

    Reply

  6. ruthsartwork
    Nov 10, 2014 @ 09:49:46

    Thanks, Cindy. I love the variety of my commission work.

    Reply

  7. lesliepaints
    Nov 12, 2014 @ 23:30:32

    Really like the shape of this building, Ruth. So interesting. You are so good with architecture!

    Reply

  8. lindahalcombfineart
    Nov 17, 2014 @ 07:48:42

    You have maintained a clear focal point with this drawing. I am amazed at the clarity and precision.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Nov 19, 2014 @ 14:02:08

      Thanks, Linda. It is different from most of my works. I almost asked her if I couls add some watercolors to it, as I felt that would go well. However, I did another black and white for her last year so I am sure that she wanted them to match.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

