Two of One

Number One

Number One

Well, here are the two home portraits. I had to adjust the driveway on the second one as it wasn’t wide enough.  I didn’t notice it when I was inking it up, but when I was comparing them in the last two posts it jumped out at me.  Fortunately, it is easier to add black than take it away.  They are quite similar as I hoped, but not exactly alike.  I rather like them each on its own, which is what I hoped to accomplish.  I’ll look at them again later today and make final adjustments, probably to the tree tops in Number Two.

Number Two

Number Two

These should go into the mail tomorrow and then on to the next commission.  It’s only black and white so it won’t take too long.  Christmas purchasing seems to be starting early this year which is just fine with me.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DixCutler
    Oct 26, 2014 @ 14:47:42

    Very handsome.

    Reply

  2. Cindy D
    Oct 26, 2014 @ 14:50:39

    They look terrific! And just enough different. The bottom one has a bit more brightness to it, as if it’s a slightly different time of day or the leaves have changed a bit differently. Lovely!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Oct 26, 2014 @ 16:22:42

      Thanks, Cindy. I would drive myself crazy if I tried to make them totally alike. LOL It is interesting to hear the differences you see. After I stare at them for so long, it is hard to have an unbiased thought. And I tend to see things to change before anything else when I view a finished piece.

      Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Oct 28, 2014 @ 11:25:22

    I like both of them, Ruth but perhaps the first one a little more. I like the contrasts of the shadows in that one!

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Oct 28, 2014 @ 11:49:38

    Me too, but the colors are actually more vivid in the real thing. I photographed inside as it was late in the day and the flourescents washed it out some.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

