Number two

Black and white #2

Black and white #2

There is such a temptation, when doing a picture twice like this, to try and refer back to the original drawing and this was no exception.  I had mostly finished the first one and decided to go ahead and start the second.  The first one was sitting next to me on my rolling shelves, right at the edge of my vision and I kept having to avert my wandering eyes.  While they have to look alike, there is no way they can be exactly alike.  The foliages cannot be duplicated .  Still, I want someone to be able to see differences only under close study.  I don’t want one gift recipient to say  “I like yours better than mine.”  If I make too many references one to the other, it takes the spontaneity off of the second one.  Basically the houses have to be very similar, but the landscaping can vary somewhat.  I just want to be careful that the second one doesn’t look stale because I referred back to the first one too much.

On to the pastels later today.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D
    Oct 22, 2014 @ 17:43:23

    Looking terrific. As intended, it does look quite a bit like the first, but just a bit different, particularly in the foliage. Lovely!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Oct 22, 2014 @ 18:45:23

      Thanks, Cindy. I did notice a minor problem with the driveway in the second one. It was not wide enough at the sidewalk. Fortunately, it was easy to fix by adding more pavement. It might have been a problem if I had made it to big but I easily added the pavement over the grass and it looks better. I didn’t see it until after I was comparing the two posts.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

