Two of one

One of the House Pencils

One of the House Pencils

Next up on the board is an order for 2 drawings of a family house to be given as gifts. It’s not a first for me to make more than one drawing of a structure. Once, someone had me draw 3 of the same fraternity house and I must say, by the third, I was ready for something else.  But 2 won’t be bad.  I have both of them drawn and will probably do the inkings consecutively and then the pastels.  I want to keep them relatively alike as I go and I think this is the best way.  We’ll see how it goes.

This is a little bit different in another way too.  Ordinarily I would concentrate on the house as the main focal point and work from there. She wants both of the big trees along the street in the picture so I have to extend the drawing somewhat.  It becomes more of a neighborhood shot with the wider emphasis.  We discussed it and she said the right side neighbors were good friends so having some of their structures in it would not be a problem.  The house is a yellowy beige so it should present itself nicely amid all of the foliage.

I am waiting to get clarification on the front landscaping before I continue on with the inking.  I tend to work from the landscaping in, so I don’t want to do anything else yet.  I figure you only need to see one pencil sketch, especially since they are supposed to be the same.

Word came back on the schnauzers and she loved them.  I liked them too, especially Zeke.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D
    Oct 12, 2014 @ 19:32:22

    Should be really cool with those two big trees. It’s kind of neat to see a bit of the neighbor’s house so it’s less a house portrait and a little more a neighborhood shot. Which is nice!

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Oct 12, 2014 @ 21:35:55

    That’s how desribed it to her – more of a neighborhood feel. She liked that.

    Reply

Leave a comment