The Two Miniature Schnauzers

Schnauzers

Schnauzers

I managed to get the inking almost finished a few days ago. Because they have such wiry, spikey hair, I wanted to leave the final inking until after I did most of the watercolors. I don’t want to have them get overly dark and sometimes the best way to accomplish that is to make the final ink touches last of all.  I do think that their colorful neck scarves will liven up their grey coat colors and I am looking forward to painting those.

I have had to hold off on the watercolors for a few days though. While the drawing was in the rest phase after the preliminary inking, I developed a swollen right cornea and couldn’t see much out of my eye except a big blur. I went to the eye doctor right away and ended up getting some steroid drops for it.  We don’t know why it happened, just that it did.  I must have irritated it somehow and my contacts didn’t help.  It has improved and I can now see okay.  Unfortunately, I can’t wear my contacts until I am done with the drops on Thursday and my glasses have to be on the edge of my nose for close up vision.  As you might guess, that is not comfortable for an extended period of time.  Since I rarely wear them, I never had a pair made with bifocals, plus I can’t find a small enough frame.  I would be considered legally blind if I did not have corrective lenses.  The current fashionable frames are so huge, with my prescription, I’d look like I had beady little eyes peering out.  Not a great look for me.  I do think I’ll try to work some later today after the football games are over.  Maybe short sessions will work out.

I have 3 architecturals in the queue right now so I need to get this finished.  It’s going to be a busy fall, which is a fun prospect.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D
    Oct 07, 2014 @ 00:08:15

    Yikes, I hope your eye is as good as new soon! It sounds very frustrating! The dogs are so cute! And such a nice job you’ve done with the multiple directions of hair on their muzzles. I think the scarves will be so nice!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Oct 07, 2014 @ 09:13:56

      I’ve been able to work on them the last couple of days, fortunately, even if my glasses are hanging off my nose. I think I may be able to finish them up today and get it in the mail. Then on to the house portraits.

      Reply

  2. Cindy D
    Oct 07, 2014 @ 22:31:00

    It’s so nice you have so many orders in the queue! Looking forward to the finished dogs!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

