Eight pounds of pawpaws

After a brief trip for a memorial service, I have gotten back home and am catching up on many things. I finally finished tweaking the dog portrait pencil drawing and have started the inking. I made some minor alterations to the left dog, but that right one has given me fits. I ended up changing the left eye and fooled around with his muzzle to where I didn’t see Tramp so much. It’s not ready to show quite yet, but I should be into the watercolors by Sunday.

A pile of pawpaws

A pile of pawpaws

Among other things happening in the last few days, I decided that we needed to have a pawpaw expedition.  The weather here is starting to change.  It is supposed to rain tomorrow and the temperatures are dropping, so it seemed a good idea to have a major hunt for the pawpaws.  We found quite a few as you can see, not including about four pounds that went home with a friend. However I think we should have gone out a week or two ago.  Some that we had noticed on earlier walks were no longer there or were way too ripe, but we still ended up with a good haul.  I think next year, I’ll have to pick more in mid September.  The kitchen smells heavily of ripe fruit and I will need to get most of it into the freezer soon.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Oct 01, 2014 @ 20:11:51

    Hooray for a good haul! These things have such a silly name. 😀

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Oct 01, 2014 @ 21:16:53

      Yes, they do. I think we would have gotten even more if we went out last week. I am freezing them in 1/2 cup amounts for easy use. It is a rather tedious job.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

