Do you even know what a pawpaw is?

A single paw paw hanging down

A single paw paw hanging down

I sure didn’t until earlier this summer. When I was out picking blackberries with a friend, she noticed that there were a lot of small pawpaw trees in the field we were in.  There was no fruit on the smaller trees she pointed out, but I knew I had seen them before.  As we walked our path around the property, I saw literally hundreds of pawpaw trees.  We started looking for fruit and sure enough we finally saw some.  It is not like domesticated fruit trees where there are dozens hanging down.  Most trees had none and when we did see some, it was usually only one or a very few.

The mother lode

The mother lode

Still, with so many trees we have found dozens. I got myself dizzy walking the path and looking up at the same time. LOL    The tree trunks are slender and very bendable.  I could grab the trunk and literally pull it over to reach the high hanging fruit. I managed to pick one that was ripe a couple of weeks ago and the consensus was that it tasted somewhat like a ripe banana.  I picked a few more today.  The smallest  one is ripe but  I am not quite sure about the other two.  Still, I picked them just to experiment on how soft they need to be before they can be eaten.  I am going to go on line and look for some recipes later.  I am not fond of ripe bananas, but John liked the way they tasted.  I’m thinking that I might make a banana bread recipe and use the pawpaws instead.  The consistency was about the same.

I picked these today

I picked these today

The size variation is pretty big as you can see.  And in the picture above with the four, the largest one has to be close to 5″ long.  The pawpaw is the largest native American fruit according to Wikipedia but I hadn’t ever noticed them before.

I have been working outside some and straightening up in the studio lately, so not much creative work has been accomplished except for a few gift tags and cards to list in my etsy shop.  I have been talking to several people about commission work so maybe the holiday season purchasing has begun.  With any luck we can work out the details and I can start something very soon.  Or maybe I’ll just paint the these.  There probably aren’t too may paintings of pawpaws out there, do you think?

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lynn
    Sep 17, 2014 @ 17:56:10

    So interesting– what a great find! I’ve never tasted one. Bet they make a great sweet bread.

    Reply

  2. Leslie
    Sep 17, 2014 @ 18:54:27

    The one’s you called the mother lode are beautiful!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Sep 17, 2014 @ 21:40:56

      I was impressed when I saw them. There are at least 8 in the small grove that I could. I can’t wait until they ripen. They are still pretty firm and I don’t want to ruin them. Thanks for telling what the tree was!

      Reply

  3. Jaci
    Sep 17, 2014 @ 21:05:44

    Ruth, we have a small grove of pawpaws in our backyard. They are beautiful ornamentals and I hear someone is breeding them for a yard tree. We have only had 3 fruit in 18 years – I think the squirrels get them all before we do. Or they fall off and we don’t find them. Let me know how the bread turns out!

    Reply

  4. foresterartist
    Sep 18, 2014 @ 13:14:14

    Wow, learn something new every day. I’ve never seen one of these.

    Reply

  5. DixCutler
    Sep 19, 2014 @ 14:00:47

    Pawpaw paintings probably pretty rare,

    Reply

  6. Cindy D.
    Sep 20, 2014 @ 00:09:34

    Nope, I have never heard about or seen this fruit! Very interesting. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

