Home portrait update

The Nashville house

The Nashville house

After a short delay due to the end of summer and finishing the last commission, I finally got back to the last house portrait in process.  I worked on it several days and it is just about done.  I need to work a little bit on the shadowing still, but since I had not posted in a while, I wanted to get it up.

I worked hard on the colors of the siding and the brick.  They are a bit unusual and I had to mix and blend several pastels to get the hues I wanted.  I also want to re-delineate with some more ink.

In an update on the pieces I had accepted into the gallery show, we went to the artist’s reception last Thursday.  I didn’t win any awards, but the Nashville scene I submitted was used on the face side of their advertising postcard.  They lightened the colors so the informational writing could be easily seen, but they showed almost my whole painting.  The back side had 1/2″ thumbnails of some of the other artists.  The artwork exhibited was good so I felt honored to be accepted too.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DixCutler
    Sep 07, 2014 @ 16:21:22

    It is coming along nicely, Ruth. I like the way the background trees work.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Sep 07, 2014 @ 19:13:24

    Thanks. It is a nicely wooded lot.

    Reply

  3. Cindy D.
    Sep 07, 2014 @ 21:00:49

    Looking great so far! Congratulations for having your image on the postcard! I hope you got some copies at least!

    Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Sep 09, 2014 @ 15:04:30

    I like this, nestled in the woods as it is. Congratulations on that show, again!

    Reply

  5. foresterartist
    Sep 18, 2014 @ 13:12:50

    Congratulations on the show, well done. I’d have given you an award, just sayin’. This one is looking fantastic!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

