Texas, colored

Pastel, colored pencil, and watercolor additions

Pastel, colored pencil, and watercolor additions

I have been working on the coloring of this one for a couple of hours each of the last few days.  The house is a pale-ish orange red and I didn’t want to over color it so I took it nice and slow.  Today it was so hot and humid outside that I was unable to take  photographs without the lens totally fogging over in about 5 seconds.  I had to take this under the studio lights which is never quite as good. I corrected color somewhat so it’s not too off, but I really prefer to photograph outside in the morning light.

This is a combination of ink, pastels and a bit of colored pencils and watercolors.  There were so many tiny white flowers in the beds that I decided to use watercolors for them.  When I spray the fixative, the pastel and the pencil whites tend to fade out.  The opaque watercolor stays right there.  I think the mailbox and the expanse of lawn turned out fine.

This week I drop off my accepted gallery works in an all day trip that will include taking some more small town photos on the way.  I wish it were going to be less hot and humid for the journey, but the weather tends not to ask me what I want.  It has been a surprisingly cool summer overall – almost an extension of last winter’s weather.

I have to get this into the mail too.  Maybe tomorrow if I can find the right box.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DixCutler
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 21:26:44

    I like it. When do I move in?

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 22:11:13

    Thanks. I think you might have to ask Andrea and her husband. LOL Do you like Texas?

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 15:27:42

    This came out perfect, Ruth! I think you handled that lawn really well, varying the colors. Not a boring space at all and pops my eye right back to the beautiful home. Now that it is finished I like it that the mailbox is included. It really enhanced the depth of this piece.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Aug 25, 2014 @ 15:38:02

      Thanks, Leslie. I was a little worried that the lawn would be too much, but I think you are right that the mailbox helped. Of course, without the mailbox, the lawn wouldn’t have been as big. LOL

      Reply

  4. Cindy D.
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 23:05:19

    Wow, it looks terrific! The shapes and shadows in that large expanse of grass are just perfect!

    Reply

  5. cadpaint
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:00:02

    Thank you for your detailed explanations. I’m always afraid to do houses ( I mainly do animals and portraits) but have been wanting to do my grandparents homestead for so long. Thank you for the inspiration, I love your blog and artwork, so beautiful.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Aug 27, 2014 @ 14:56:14

      Thanks, Cadpaint. Sometimes we have to just dive right in and try it. Maybe it would be less intimidating to just do a part of the house, like the entryway or a porch. You could experiment with something smaller first, also. For the inking I like to work on smaller areas at a time, shifting my attention around so it stays balanced. I tend to do a lot of the foliage and landscaping first, then move into the doors and windows and then out to the siding and roof. If I look at all of it right away it can be overwhelming, especially in a complicated building so I break it down to manageable parts. And never be afraid of the “circular file”. It is freeing to know it doesn’t always have to be perfect and you are allowed to throw something away.

      I was afraid to sell animal portraits for a long time. I would be trying to capture a personality and it is a fine line between right and wrong. I think our brains are wired to pick up something that is not quite right in a living subject more so than in architecture. Initially, I practiced with family and friend’s pets where it didn’t matter how they turned out. I was glad I did because I found out that black is REALLY hard and wouldn’t you know it, my first commission was a black dog. But the lessons I learned from doing my son’s cats were invaluable.

      Reply

      • cadpaint
        Aug 27, 2014 @ 15:37:23

        Thank you, I hadn’t considered doing a small part… I think I will try that in a sketchbook with no pressure. Yes, black dogs are a challenge but can also lead to many colours blending in it.

        Reply

  6. foresterartist
    Sep 18, 2014 @ 13:10:28

    This is great Ruth! I just love your ink detail.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

