I’ve finally finished the inking

Texas ranch house

Texas ranch house

After a mishap in laying out one of the windows and having to redo, I finally finished the inking.  I rather like the little courtyard in the front.  I will delineate more of  her extensive flower bed plantings with the colors.  She has some nice hanging baskets on the garage eaves and just off the front door that I want to make more visible.  There is also a colorful petunia pot on the stoop.  We shall see what happens.  It is at rest until tomorrow when the colors come into play.  She specifically wanted their mailbox in the portrait, so the house is set back a bit more than I would ordinarily have done.  I have to make sure that the lawn doesn’t overpower the house.

I have left the front door partially undone.  She has a large initial hanging on it and I will use the watercolors.  It is too delicate for the pastels and quite important to her.  That will be the last thing I do on it.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DixCutler
    Aug 19, 2014 @ 17:40:10

    Looks very handsome.

    Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Aug 21, 2014 @ 10:56:13

    I do so like your ink drawings, Ruth. I have a book full of ink drawings that I peruse, from time to time, and yours look so much like some of them, especially the different strokes you use. Love those background trees, too! The patterns in the lawn caught my eye, as well, even though I know the real skill was in the perspective and architectural rendering of the home.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Aug 21, 2014 @ 13:05:08

      Thanks, Leslie. That’s quite a compliment. I have a book by Guptill that I got many, many years ago and it has a lot of buildings in it as well as ink techniques. It was discouraging at first, but now I have accepted my own style as pretty good so I can look at these things for inspiration and not be overwhelmed.

      There is a lot of lawn in this but she wanted her mailbox included. I have been having fun with texturing the flow of the grass lately so it is not quite so boring. I have finished most of the color so that’s my next post.

      Reply

  3. Cindy D.
    Aug 22, 2014 @ 19:51:38

    Wow, it looks amazing! I love those windows, and the garage. And that stylish, squat mailbox makes such a great design element in the bottom corner, perhaps the owner was on to something! I look forward to the courtyard in bloom. 🙂

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Aug 23, 2014 @ 12:05:11

      Thanks, Cindy. I wish I could have used the street sign post. They have put a lot of flowers around it and it is much more decorative that the mailbox. I was a little worried that there might be too much expanse of grass, but it seems to be okay. There are a lot of plants in the courtyard which helps too. Arched windows never hurt either.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

