A different architectural

A funny thing happened on the way to redoing my own home portrait in the watercolors – I couldn’t find my reference photos. I have looked everywhere I can think of. I went through my big file cabinet, my little box of current work folders, the specific file where I keep the photos of finished work, the flat file…everywhere, and I just can’t find them.  I’m usually pretty good about these things and there were a lot of detail photos along with the main shot so there is a big folder out there somewhere with the pictures I need.  I just can’t locate it.  The only good thing is I cleaned out a lot of old things in the process.  I am sure as soon as I get them reprinted, they’ll turn up.

A Nashville house

A Nashville house

So I have had to improvise.  I did have some shots of another house that I have been planning on doing, so I’ll be doing this instead.  It’s about 13″ x 8″ so it’s not too big, but it’s not too small either.  It’s has both brick and siding and is on a nicely wooded lot.  The pencil sketch needs to sit for now but I’ll get back to it soon.

The berries are about done.  The raspberries were spectacular this year, but the blackberries, only so-so.  I had hopes of picking 4-5 gallons and will be lucky to end up with 3.  Not bad, but still disappointing, given what I expected.  The more I can freeze, the longer they will go into next year before running out.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DixCutler
    Aug 04, 2014 @ 13:14:45

    The reason the photos are missing is because you put them away in a safe place.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Aug 04, 2014 @ 14:09:53

      How true. When I do that, whatever it is, it is only safe from me. I lost a bracelet for 2 years for just that reason. I was so happy when I found it back in January.

      Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Aug 05, 2014 @ 00:29:53

    I like seeing this penciled in version. It is so interesting seeing what you do with the Bare bones to finish.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Aug 05, 2014 @ 09:46:53

      I try not to overdo the pencil part. I need the bare bones laid out, but it’s more free form after that. In the very beginning I used a ruler for the straight lines like the siding, but the drawing ended up too rigid. So I trust my eye and dive right in.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

