Akron, watercolored

Watercolored

Watercolored

I worked over the course of three sessions to lay down the watercolors on this one. First day puts down the basics, but not too much. The next session, I put down the majority of the color and stopped before overdoing it. The last session was short, adding depth and shading.  I added a bit more ink to the flowers and a few spots of brickwork that I forgot.  I like the change to the slate shingles.  The flat orangey asphalt ones didn’t do much for me and the slate gives the house a more stately look.  I’ll let it sit for a few days but I think it is about done.

I need to have a few more complete watercolor home portraits to add a listing to my etsy shop in addition to the pastels portraits.  So next up, I think I will redo my own house with the watercolors.  I never liked the way it turned out when I did it with the pastels, so maybe I will with the watercolors.   It’s not quite so grand as this one, but we like it.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DixCutler
    Jul 30, 2014 @ 19:39:59

    Kinda wish I could move in!

    Reply

  2. Cindy D.
    Jul 30, 2014 @ 21:52:44

    Beautiful color and detail! Rustic and charming and so pretty!

    Reply

  3. cadpaint
    Jul 31, 2014 @ 10:32:52

    Wow!!!

    Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Aug 05, 2014 @ 00:26:54

    What I like about these are the treat of looking at line and always being surprised by the colors you choose. This is very nice, Ruth! This house is literally hugged by trees.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Aug 05, 2014 @ 13:57:43

      Usually I choose what is there, but if it’s not a commission, I have more leeway. I often add more flowers and landscaping. This home was in a neighborhood where my son had a smaller home and most lots had plenty of mature trees. Akron was a pretty active city at one time with its large tire design and manufacturing plants. It still is the biggest industry.

      Reply

  5. foresterartist
    Aug 05, 2014 @ 15:31:39

    Fantastic Ruth, love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

