Yippee!!

The studio

The studio

I had a great surprise in the mail on Friday. Remember I had entered 2 paintings in a gallery show a few weeks ago? Well, according to their show prospectus, notifications would be sent out the end of this week. Lo and behold, I got the letter that both were accepted a week early.  Now I have to mat and frame them up.  Not a huge deal because I can cut the mats myself, but they want them framed under plexiglass and I don’t know where I will get that.  The good thing is I have over a month to figure it out.  I plan to hand deliver the two and make a day of it to take some more small town architectural photos.  It has been a long time since I did that – well before I got my digital camera in 2005.  That should prove fun too.

Nashville Watercolor

Nashville Watercolor

I think of the two, I like the artist’s studio better.  The works will be for sale with a commission to the gallery, but what the heck.  I think the exposure will be good and if I can get some additional architectural commissions out of it, so much the better.   Selling them would be a bonus.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leslie
    Jul 13, 2014 @ 14:22:18

    Congratulations!

    Reply

  2. coastalartglass
    Jul 13, 2014 @ 15:47:03

    How exciting, Congrats!

    Reply

  3. DixCutler
    Jul 13, 2014 @ 17:44:35

    Well done, Ruth. I’m sure you will enjoy the trip.

    Reply

  4. Karen
    Jul 13, 2014 @ 18:21:19

    Congratulations! They are both great pieces. fyi… I think you can get plexiglass cut to order at your local home improvement store. I’ve never seen it offered at frame shops, but maybe. I’m surprised they’re asking for plexiglass. I’ve never heard of that.

    Reply

  5. foresterartist
    Jul 15, 2014 @ 03:42:13

    So well deserved Ruth!

    Reply

  6. lesliepaints
    Jul 15, 2014 @ 12:22:24

    Congratulations, Ruth! You can buy plexiglass from any framer. Just have him cut it to the size you would like to fit your frames. I buy it to use as a painting surface for a technique I teach. Later, if you want, you can switch back to glass, so they don’t fade over time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

