Bees, bandaides, and the Key West House

It’s been a tough day for my hands.  The ceramic soap dish in my bathroom broke and I sliced my left thumb pad first thing this morning.  Then I went out to pick raspberries for probably the last time this summer and managed to get stung on my right pinkie by a ground bee just before I was finished.  Man, did that ever hurt.  I got back to the house and put a baking soda paste on it which helped for about half an hour.  Then it started throbbing badly again so I tried a baking soda/vinegar soak for a while.  A little bit of relief.  Then it started to hurt again and swell up as well and move some into my ring finger.  I haven’t had something hurt like that in ages.  On to some benadryl spray, ibuprofen, and icing it.  The off and on icing has helped the most, but 6 hours later I can still feel it.  It is still swollen a little and stiff.  I guess I will be continuing the icing the rest of the day.  Durn ground bees.  I think this is the first time I have ever been stung in all the years of berry picking.  All of the weeding hasn’t helped the nerves in my hands either.

Key West cottage

Key West cottage

I did manage to finish the inking on this little house today even though my little finger is swollen and achy. At least there wasn’t much left to do.  It’s amazing how much I use all of the fingers on my hand.  I could barely draw the straight lines for the siding because I was holding my pinkie out and not bending it. The siding looks a bit wonky to me but it will have to do. Watercolor will be up in the next couple of days.  The house is just a blah sort of green with black shutters and white trim.  I am going to look at my other photos and make it more colorful.  It may be a small house, but it can have big Key West colors.  Now back to icing my finger.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DixCutler
    Jul 06, 2014 @ 18:57:53

    OOOOuch. Wee cottage is cute, though.

    Reply

  2. kasiapaintspets
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 03:30:49

    I love your drawing 🙂

    Reply

  3. Cindy D.
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 08:13:19

    My goodness, what a report! I hope by now your finger has totally recovered! Also your thumb. Sounds very frustrating! The drawing looks great and I think more colorful is always good. 🙂

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jul 07, 2014 @ 11:11:47

      Thankfully my finger is better today. Once I took my contacts out and could look closely at it, I found a small “something” in the finger and I dug it out. Maybe it was a stinger or maybe it wasn’t, but things improved overnight and I could pull weeds again this morning – the never ending summer job.

      How can you have a house in Key West and have such bland colors. I am definitely changing it, just haven’t decided to what yet.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

