Key West cottage

I’ve been a bit lax on posting the last 2 weeks, but I have a good excuse. It is black raspberry season!! If you have been looking at my blog for the last few years, you know that studio time lessens somewhat when the berries come in.  Nothing gets between me and my berries.  I have picked about three gallons so far, and if you know how small black raspberries are, you know that is a lot of picking.  Almost done though.  Next up will be the blackberries, but not for a few weeks.

Key West cottage

Key West cottage

I enjoyed doing the two little art studios last month and thought I’d like to do something else in the same vein.  I found a small Key West cottage in my pictures and thought it would be a good choice. I penciled it up today.  I plan to do it in the pen and ink and the watercolors.  It has been fun playing with the watercolors on a small scale.

If I disappear again for a short period near the end of the month, just think about me, out in the fields picking blackberries.  I am hoping for 3-5 gallons worth.  All of the berries seem to have liked our long cold weather and are producing well.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DixCutler
    Jul 02, 2014 @ 18:35:36

    Fresh berries are an excellent excuse for anything.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Jul 02, 2014 @ 20:56:03

    Yes, they are. Black raspberries are just about the best. I mostly pick the blackberries to freeze and give away.

    Reply

  3. Cindy D.
    Jul 02, 2014 @ 22:54:21

    Holy cow three gallons! I would love to pick some berries and I can’t think of the last time I did that. And certainly not that many. 😀

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jul 03, 2014 @ 07:33:24

      Yes, Cindy, it’s a lot of picking, but I enjoy it. I freeze a lot so we can have them almost year round. Between the berries and the weeding, my studio time has been a lot less. But the berries are worth it. Weeding, not so much. LOL

      Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Jul 05, 2014 @ 11:29:50

    Happy berrying, Ruth! Will look forward to this painting.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

