King Charles Cavalier Spaniel

Winston

Winston

I’ve been working the last few days on the watercolor for the portrait of the puppy. I wasn’t quite sure what the breed was so I asked. It reminded me some of the Japanese chin from a few months ago but I knew that wasn’t quite right.  She emailed me back that he is a King Charles Cavalier Spaniel puppy.  Looking at him now, I can see it.  I have an acquaintance who got one 7 or 8 years ago and he does remind me of it.  I am going to let it “rest” for a few days and then send it on to his new home in Atlanta.

My next commission for a cardigan Welsh corgi came through yesterday.  That’s a white and brindle color, so that will be interesting to do.  I made the enlargements today, so tomorrow I’ll start the pencil up

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mycreativeresolution2014
    May 09, 2014 @ 09:09:29

    I thought that’s what the breed was when I saw your sketch! I started a watercolor of one a couple of years ago, but never finished. My daughter wanted a dog so badly and her friend had just gotten a king charles cavalier. Your painting came out great! I was curious – do you always use the grid? I find it so helpful.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      May 09, 2014 @ 09:26:32

      I use a grid for the pencil drawing and the inking. I erase it for the watercolors. I don’t use one for the architecturals and anything else.

      I’m glad you recognized it as a King Charles. I guess that means I did a decent job.

      Reply

  2. Cindy D.
    May 09, 2014 @ 17:17:43

    So cute! Very sweet face. Looks just like a King Charles for sure!

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    May 12, 2014 @ 23:47:14

    Your pet portraits just keep getting better and better. This little one is a cutie!

    Reply

  4. kasiapaintspets
    May 19, 2014 @ 05:21:36

    very sweet 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

