Studio 1, watercolored

The studio

The studio

I ended up going with the watercolors for the studio. This is the first run through and I imagine that this week I’ll refine it with shadowing.  Most of the yard is wooded so I do need to add more.  I tried to keep the charm of the setting by keeping it simple.

Next weekend I am participating in a studio tour. Not in my studio, mind you, but I will be taking some of my pieces to set up with another artist who has graciously agreed to host me at her place.  This will be my first outing in quite a few years so I have had to put on my thinking cap and remember what I might need.  I have been gathering up everything I can think of  and will be taking my ornaments, note cards, gift tags, bookmarks, and some architectural work.  I may paint more stone paperweights this week if I get the chance.  Lots of price points is always important.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Apr 27, 2014 @ 13:49:00

    Wow, I love it! Those pastels in the window are just perfect. Now I want to go there!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Apr 27, 2014 @ 13:58:15

      The two studios are cozy little spaces and, I am sure, wonderful to work in. Between her presses and paper storage, I don’t know how much extra space there was, but she certainly created a lot of prints there. The only thing I would object to is – no heat. Even though it is in Atlanta, it can get cold in the winter. I can’t work if my fingers are frozen. LOL

      Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 01:15:02

    Wow! I liked the inked version in the previous post, but this is so much more! Love the color in the small panes of the window and the foliage is superb. Nice capture of a sunlit place, Ruth!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Apr 28, 2014 @ 09:09:37

      Thanks, Leslie. I like the windows too. I did have to darken them somewhat because I forgot you could see trees on the other side. I think a litle bit more shadowing will improve it. Then I’ll start the other one. It has a tealish blue siding, somewhat of a contrast to the stucco of this one.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

