Studio 1 black and white

Studio 1 inked

Studio 1 inked

This took me two days to ink. Yesterday, I stopped with the foliage about 2/3 done. I hadn’t quite decided how to finish the lower right corner and the background trees and didn’t want to overdo it.

The studio is stuccoed so there won’t be much texture until I color it.  The azaleas were in bloom so there will be lots of red, pink and white flowers.  I am pretty happy with the positive/negative balance, although I may add a small amount more in the lower right quadrant.  I am still up min the air as to whether I will use the watercolors or the pastels.  I have to decide for both studios now, so it is a bigger decision than normal.  The pastels will be a richer, deeper color and the watercolors more light and airy.  Suggestions?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MaryALivingston
    Apr 23, 2014 @ 17:47:57

    Well done.

    Reply

  2. Gray Dawster
    Apr 23, 2014 @ 21:04:15

    This is brilliant Ruth 🙂

    Andro

    Reply

  3. Cindy D.
    Apr 23, 2014 @ 22:23:06

    I love it! Two days! What does that mean, exactly? Like, several hours each day? My favorite part at this point is that glimpse into the interior of the building. Wow. I really need to learn more pen strokes like all the different kind you got to use for this.But I have no idea about the color. In my opinion, there are many positives to both so you just may need to do another. 🙂

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Apr 24, 2014 @ 10:44:09

      It was maybe 2 hours to lay out in pencil, 2 hours for the initial inking and about an hour the next. It’s small, about 9×9. I can be pretty fast sometimes. Layout can be time consuming and the hardest depending on the pictures and building complexity. Inking just seems to be “timeless” as not as much conscience thought. Coloring is always the fastest, although I may take more days and work less at one time. I have to decide when it’s done.

      Try reading Arthur Guptill for pen and ink techiques.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

