The Artist’s Studio

The Artist's Studio

The Artist’s Studio

Once again we have been out of town for a bit. This time we went to Atlanta to visit a close family friend who is ill.  She is a rather famous Atlanta artist and we have been doing some work on her home off and on since her husband of 60 years passed away last summer, around the same time as my father did.   Many years ago, her husband built two work studios for her printing presses, nestled in their large wooded back yard.  The area is also landscaped so beautifully that at one time it was featured in a magazine.  There are so many different types of plants and flowers that I could never hope to identify them all.  I can recognize the azaleas and the roses, the pines and the crepe myrtles, and the daffodils and wisteria, but that’s about my limit.  There are wonderful brick walkways and concrete patios interspersed with the the plantings.  Any place you might sit has a wonderful view.

I always loved her studios and thought that someday I would draw them.  I guess the time is now, while I have the chance.  I took a bunch of photos when we were there last week.  This one is wood framed and stuccoed, with timbered trusses.  John grew up right next door and actually helped Bob build the structure.  I think that started John’s love of timber framing so many years ago.  I haven’t decided whether I will use watercolors or pastels over the ink yet.  Inking will start tomorrow so I will have a few days to decide.

I am keeping the drawings small scale to reflect the intimacy of the setting.  They are about the same size, sitting side by side in the yard.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DixCutler
    Apr 20, 2014 @ 19:47:19

    What a beautiful work space. I love my studio but admit it lacks that beautiful setting!

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Apr 20, 2014 @ 19:53:45

    The setting is so lovely. She has done an amazing amount of work out there over the years.

    Reply

  3. Cindy D.
    Apr 21, 2014 @ 20:26:19

    Wow, it totally sounds like a dream studio! Can’t wait to see the garden in color!

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Apr 21, 2014 @ 21:09:00

    Ruth Laxson produced a lot of art over the years in the studios. She started with etchings and moved into word art and has made quite a name for herself.

    Reply

  5. lesliepaints
    Apr 23, 2014 @ 11:05:43

    I work at my kitchen table and have to clear it off whenever family comes. What a wonderful spot to create in. Will be looking forward to seeing this finished, Ruth.

    Reply

  6. ruthsartwork
    Apr 23, 2014 @ 14:49:33

    I was lucky to have my drafting table to work on. Still, I had to put most things away when the kids were small. I am loving my studio space these days. It’s messier than I ever thought possible. (Although not toooo bad. I’m a Virgo……)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

