More red linocuts

Red Chinese dragon

Red Chinese dragon

After I made the red dogwood linocut, I decided to look through my older blocks and see what might look good in red too.  Most obvious was my Chinese dragon, since they can commonly be seen in red.  I think he looks pretty feistyand dramatic this way

Cherry blossoms

Cherry blossoms

Then, as I continued to rifle through the linocut blocks, I found one of the early ones I made.  It hadn’t turn out the way I wanted, but since I have been doing them for a while now, I decided to modify it.  I actually removed t most of the background and made it more of a companion print to the previous dogwood one.  I wish I could change the blossoms a bit, but it’s not bad this way and I salvaged an old block into something more useful.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 17:13:12

    Great, vibrant red! The flowers in particular look terrific!

    Reply

  2. Gray Dawster
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 10:41:32

    Both of these examples are stunning, I especially like the dragon but then I would 🙂 Have a wonderful Thursday 🙂

    Andro

    Reply

  3. ruthsartwork
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 13:06:39

    Thanks, Andro. I like the red too.

    Reply

  4. Carol King
    Apr 22, 2014 @ 10:27:30

    I really like these woodblock images. Love the red!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Apr 22, 2014 @ 14:08:03

      Red is currently one of my favorites I waffle between red and green though. LOL The red dragon is kind of cute. I think I might like it better than the black.

      Reply

  5. foresterartist
    Apr 22, 2014 @ 14:59:50

    These are beautiful Ruth!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

