Red dogwoods

Really red dogwood flowers

Really red dogwood flowers

Thursday, I printed up the dogwood linocut with my red ink. If you remember, I considered adding some white to the red to vary the color. However, that would require that I had some white.  I thought I did, but I did’t.  So much for that idea.  Anyway, I am not unhappy with the solid red.  It is quite vibrant in its own right.  I am thinking of making a companion print for this since I don’t think I’ll make one with the added watercolors.  I’ll have to think about another red flower to use.  Or maybe I’ll print up the dragon in red. Take a peek at my etsy store linocuts and please make a suggestion for a different color for the black ones.

 

https://www.etsy.com/shop/ruthsartwork?section_id=12221408&ref=shopsection_leftnav_9

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Apr 06, 2014 @ 12:03:44

    Wonderful!!

    Reply

  2. Cindy D.
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 17:14:50

    I definitely vote for the red! Makes a great set with the new one!

    I don’t know exactly how it works, but could you do a gradient, like purple into red or something like that?

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Apr 10, 2014 @ 09:24:49

      Yes, I could, by putting daubs of different inks on they glass and then rollering it. I had planned to do that with the white, but then didn’t have any. I may try some blue, though at your suggestion. It would be interesting.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

