Coyotes and French Bulldogs

Today, shortly before I was going to sit down and write this post, I was on the phone. As I was talking, I glanced out of the window at the pond and I saw a Nat Geo Wild tableau unfolding right before my eyes. We have had bufflehead and Mallard ducks and Canadian geese on the pond all this week, I think hoping for spring just as much as we are. In addition I saw two great blue herons, and then turkeys flew down from some tree branch perches. Lots of activity to see on the shallow end of the pond.  Then, unexpectedly, I saw a coyote wade into the water and head toward one of the herons.  The heron leapt up into the air and flew over to the shoreline in a deeper area of the pond.  The coyote slipped out of the shallow water and raced along the shore to chase after the heron.  It flapped back to the shallow end and the coyote retraced his steps, wading back into the water. He stalked the herons again as the ducks and geese looked on in amusement.  He dashed about in the water, stirring up both of the herons.  One again rose up into the air.  And again the coyote chased it along the shoreline.  Then both were back in the shallow end.   Finally, the coyote tired of the game and just raced himself around in small circles through the grass at the waters edge before heading off into the woods.  I think everyone knew there was no real danger and that the coyote wasn’t really intent on hunting them.  I think he was just having a bit of spring fever fun.

Of course, since I don’t leave the telephoto lens on the camera, it was all over by the time I got ready.  No photos available.  Still, I have to laugh at the poor stately herons.  It seems as if they are the butt of wildlife jokes and amusement.  This reminded me of the deer stalker incident a few years ago, where the doe harassed another heron around the shallow end of the pond for almost half an hour.  Then I did have time to put on the telephoto and got a few pictures.  Here’s a link to that post.  If it doesn’t work, just go to the July 2011 posts and you’ll find it.

https://ruthsartwork.wordpress.com/2011/07/13/the-deer-stalker-when-the-deer-is-the-stalker/

Travelling Trip

Travelling Trip

Now back to Trip, the travelling Frenchie.  I watercolored him over the course of two days.  I had to be careful with the fawn color and not overdo it, over powering the white.  Today pretty much all I did was add to the shadows.  I am pleased with the way it turned out.

And finally, whoo-hoo, tomorrow is opening day for MLB.  I know where I’ll be at 4:00 tomorrow afternoon. Rooting for a White Sox winner. Spring has finally, officially, started for me.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DixCutler
    Mar 30, 2014 @ 17:17:36

    Frenchie looks GREAT. Love the heron stories. We saw them on the river frequently but I spotted one on the roof deck railing of our neighbour’s houseboat. It looked a bit out of place!

    Reply

  2. Gray Dawster
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 05:08:00

    Awesome work my friend, I liked the sketching beforehand too, your talents are astounding 🙂 Have a lovely start to your week Ruth 🙂

    Andro xx

    Reply

  3. marthakeimstlouis
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 12:14:50

    nice work you do

    Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 10:00:27

    Great story, Ruth! Beautiful bulldog prtrait. I really like the lift of the chin in this and the glorious light you have captured.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Apr 01, 2014 @ 10:38:13

      It sure was fun to see. I feel so blessed with all of the wildlife here (except maybe truck burning squirrels). It’s like my own nature channel. Who would have thought when we built here that I’d see coyote pups repeatedly, courting turkeys, bald eagles, a doe chasing a heron, a coyote chasing a heron, large antlered bucks, all in my backyard without even the need for binoculars. Not what many would expect in not so rural Indiana.

      I kind of like Trip’s portrait too. He is given to posing statuesquely for his owners admiration.

      Reply

  5. foresterartist
    Apr 02, 2014 @ 20:15:39

    Great story about the coyote. I’m surprised Marlin Perkins didn’t show up with a camera crew. Love the bulldog watercolor!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Apr 02, 2014 @ 22:11:05

      We see so much wildlife here, much more than our last house, which was also rural. Maybe it is the lake’s presence and the fact we are set back from it. I never know what I am going to see each day. I could do with a few less shrubbery chewing deer though. LOL

      Reply

Leave a Reply

