Watercolored streetscape

Watercolored

Watercolored

After a short vacation, I headed back to the studio this week and finished up the streetscape this week.  I enjoyed painting the red and brown bricks once again and the teal highlights. However, I have decided that maybe the scale of the drawing is not quite what I want.  The size of the buildings in this small painting makes it difficult to add very much detail.  The other corner streetscape that I did of this size was basically one building and I think it was easier to be subtle in the colorings.  I am not unhappy with this, just not as happy as I could be.  Maybe the solution is to take a single  storefront again.

Here’s a link back to the other watercolor.  https://ruthsartwork.wordpress.com/2013/10/23/the-watercolors-won/

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leslie Nieves
    Mar 23, 2014 @ 13:14:24

    The stores look great! It’s an attractive and interesting scene. The sky coloring may need to be a little darker because, at least on the monitor, it almost looks white.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Mar 23, 2014 @ 14:07:51

      There is actually more color in the sky, Leslie. Even though I am working on it, my photoshop skills are not the best and so the pictures are not always true. I usually like a piece much better in person.

      Reply

  2. DixCutler
    Mar 23, 2014 @ 13:28:00

    Looks great. LOVE those bright blue awnings.

    Reply

  3. bercton
    Mar 24, 2014 @ 09:18:59

    Very inspiring work of arts!

    Reply

  4. foresterartist
    Mar 28, 2014 @ 21:07:04

    This came out beautifully Ruth. I love your streetscapes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

