Odds and ends

Colorful Victorian

Colorful Victorian

I’ve been working on some small projects this week. I made up a few more cards with the watercolor inserts  and decided to package them up as 3 card sets to sell in my etsy shop.

And then I went looking for for something larger.  I don’t know if I showed this in the ink phase but last fall I started on this Victorian home before all of the Christmas commissions came in.  I had inked it up and the watercolor started.  I thought the original white siding in the photo was too boring so I decided to make it more of a painted lady.  I don’t know how successful it is turning out.  I like the reds for the brick and the roof, but I am not sure about the green/yellow shingle siding.  I didn’t want to make it too yellow, but in the end, I think it is a bit too green.  I do like the turquoise trim with the reds.  I’ll have to think a bit on how to change the siding.  I’ve fussed with it today and it still needs work ’cause I’m just not happy yet.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leslie Nieves
    Mar 06, 2014 @ 14:53:59

    Ruth, The color combination looks fine to me except the lower pinkish section which might be better in the dark red.

    Reply

  2. Cindy D.
    Mar 06, 2014 @ 21:02:07

    Beautiful! I can’t decide about the color combination – though I agree the turquoise and red is really nice. It has all the charm of a multicolored house – and they are often a sort of funny mix of colors. Of course, it should be whatever color you like best. 🙂

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Mar 07, 2014 @ 16:21:02

    The color is great! Your choices work very well together.

    Reply

  4. Gray Dawster
    Mar 09, 2014 @ 22:58:09

    I have a word for this piece of art and it is superb 🙂

    Andro

    Reply

Leave a Reply

