A couple of dogs on the board

Corgi

Corgi

I’ve been a bit under the weather but managed to sketch up these two dog portraits today.  One is an adult corgi and the other is a Japanese chin puppy.  I like the variety of breed and colors that these present. The corgi is a red and white and the Japanese chin breed is black and white.

Japanese chin

Japanese chin

Once again both present problems to work out.  Tongues hanging out is a new challenge.  You are actually seeing the bottom of the chin’s.  I think I will work on the corgi first. I am pretty happy with the initial sketch and with a fresh look tomorrow and some minor adjustments, I think I can head right into the inking.  The chin needs a little bit of deliberation.  Like any black coated animal photo, it is hard to make out some of the details especially around the ears and eyes.  A few days of letting it sit may make it easier for me to determine what to do.  It’s not that I am really unhappy with it.  I just know I need to step away from it for a few days.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DixCutler
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 17:45:01

    Nice — I see personality in both. Will enjoy seeing how they progress.

    Reply

  2. Cindy D.
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 22:23:54

    The dogs look great! I hope you’re feeling better!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

