Printed and colored

Black and white

Black and white

Stuck in the house after yet another snowfall and extra cold days, I printed and then watercolored the daisy floral linocut from the last post.  I use the slicker side of a thin printmaking paper for the black one.  After mistakenly using that side for prints a few months ago, I decided I like the way it turned much better than the rougher side. Directions said either side could be used, but naturally I chose the rougher texture that I was more familiar with.  As it turns out, it is a little bit easier to get a smooth even print on the slick side.  I have a heavier, more watercolor weight paper for the colored one.  It only took one experiment to tell me that the thin paper buckles badly and doesn’t look very good. However it is much harder to get an even print on the thicker paper and sometimes I have to print several to get what I need.  I have decided to get another brayer.  Mine has to be close to 40 years old as I bought it for a college class.  I’m checking into what to get so if anyone has a suggestion, I’d appreciate information.

Colored daisies

Colored daisies

I decided to make the colored flowers hues close to the the real ones.  I don’t know what species they are, but they grow prolifically on the road side in late summer and are a deep gold/yellow.  They actually make a rather nice bouquet.

Our mac is temporarily down and in the shop for a virus check so I haven’t been surfing through other blogs very much. Hopefully, I’ll get it back in a few days and be able to visit everyone more often.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Feb 17, 2014 @ 20:16:15

    This is really nice, would make great upholstery fabric or something like that! The black seems so dark, have you tried blue or another color ink?

    Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Feb 19, 2014 @ 13:43:44

    Hi Ruth,
    I like both of these. I don’t do the linocuts but have worked with a technique called gouache resist. The result is an image that is very much like a linocut print. I always have a hard time deciding if I am going to paint over the black and white image. I like some of the black and whites better. Your print, here, has that effect for me. I almost like the black and white better. I love your linos!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

