Red Brick Pharmacy

Smith's Pharmacy

Smith’s Pharmacy

I worked a few hours at a time on this streetscape commission over the past week and sprayed it once.  It’s not quite finished in the photo because I had to take the picture while the daylight held.  Studio lights just don’t make it for photography.  I have darkened up the shadows as well as deepened the colors on the front facade and sidewalk to add depth.  I watercolored the blue for the signs because it was too narrow to do neatly with the pastels.  I have softened that vivid blue a bit with some cream and beige pastels.  All in all it’s shaping up nicely and I will get it in the mail as soon as the weather improves.

Next up I will be making a few more of the cookie mold paper ornaments.  I sold the angel and the sheep in my etsy store and will be replacing them.  I have a few others I can do for Valentine’s Day and Easter so it will be kind of a crafty week.

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. inceptionspark
    Jan 29, 2014 @ 19:47:57

    Wow – beautiful skilfully done artwork. Wonderful!

    Reply

  2. DixCutler
    Jan 29, 2014 @ 19:56:14

    Lovely work, Ruth. Love the sign.

    Reply

  3. brad young's art
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 01:32:38

    Very nice! Wow.

    Reply

  4. Gray Dawster
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 03:45:01

    I have a word for this finished
    piece and it is quite simply, perfection 🙂

    Andro xx

    Reply

  5. bercton
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 09:17:59

    Nice touch of finish to this art work, Brilliant!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jan 30, 2014 @ 09:26:22

      Thanks. I’ll be finishing it up today and try to rephotograph. She wants to make cards so I’ll take several photos for her and send them with the portrait.

      Reply

  6. Cindy D.
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 09:42:51

    Wow, so terrific! Such a wonderful old-fashioned feel to it. I love the bold sign, and that wonderful green awning beside it.

    Reply

  7. foresterartist
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 13:38:09

    It looks great Ruth!

    Reply

  8. lesliepaints
    Jan 31, 2014 @ 22:52:11

    Excellent! The shadows are perfect. This looks so like an old pharmacy near where my Grandparents lived and that I would go to with them when they shopped there. So, brings back memories for me. Really nice!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

