Three Red Dog Night

Three of a kind

Three of a kind

Here we have it. I worked on the watercoloring over three separate days and finally quit. Suddenly I felt I was starting to fiddle around and that never ends well.  It was harder than I expected to do the three at once.  Do I work mainly on one at a time, or do I work on all of them simultaneously?  It ended up being some of both.  It got too distracting to move from dog to dog, so I initially worked on one part of one, like the head or the chest, and then move to a different one. At the last, I was trying to finish each one separately so the figure had a coherent flow of color and texture.

Although all three are red vizslas, there is color and expression variations among them.  The guy on the right is the elder statesman.  His face was very grayed and he had quite the worried expression.  The middle dog was also the mid-range of their colors.  He appeared reddish-gold and seemed the most interested in what might be happening.  The red of the last one on the left had a more brownish cast and he seemed the most layed back.

I feel pretty confident that I kept their expressive faces distinctly different and showed the color variations.  Still, three at once was hard to do, if only from the standpoint of size of the picture.  What do you think of the three?  Did I succeed?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DixCutler
    Jan 12, 2014 @ 12:23:29

    I really like this, Ruth. You absolutely captured the different personalities.

    Reply

  2. beth
    Jan 13, 2014 @ 08:27:18

    You definitely got it! This is them. Great job!

    Reply

  3. Gray Dawster
    Jan 16, 2014 @ 19:24:02

    I love this art work 🙂

    Andro

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jan 16, 2014 @ 20:42:31

      Thanks, Andro. There was a time a few years ago that I felt that my animal work had lost the vitality that it had 35 years ago. These animal portraits have helped a lot and I am having fun with them again.

      Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Jan 31, 2014 @ 22:49:01

    You did great, Ruth. Your portraiture has grown leaps and bounds. Three at once! Awesome!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Feb 01, 2014 @ 10:05:06

      Thanks, Leslie. It was intimidating, because it was a commission work, even if it was for a family member. I have been generally pleased with the way the portraits have been turning out. I think making them a little larger helps too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

