Our Christmas tradition continued

Candy cane cookies on the most beautiful countertop

Candy cane cookies on the world’s most beautiful countertop

Now, I am not into baking from scratch much but candy cane cookies at Christmas are the major exception.  I remember being a small child watching my mother roll these cookies at Christmas and then eating them hot out of the oven.  After cooling, they became quite hard (but still tasty) and we ate as many as we were allowed.  And my kids grew up having them too.  They are a refrigerator dough cookie so they take a bit of prep time, but it’s worth it.  I don’t cook mine quite so long so they stay softer for a while, but in the end, they are just as good.  I think I have made these cookies for just about every Christmas since the kids were born.  Except the year I broke my hand of course.  Buttery dough on my cast just didn’t seem like a good idea at the time.

Part of the tradition is to have your initial made into a cookie and for those of us with a big letter, it was almost like getting an extra half cookie.  My kids and John were lucky though.  If you hang the curve the right way, ALL of the cookies are their initials.  Happy Holidays and Merry Christmas to all!!

Back to the drawing board in a few days.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 15:18:03

    What a fun tradition! Merry Christmas and hope your holidays are terrific!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

