The last Christmas commission

Florida architecture

Florida architecture

I think this is probably one of the nicest houses I’ve done for a commission in recent years.  It is long for a ranch but the architectural features add a lot.  All of the turned gables break up the front and the 2 story entryway makes it visually interesting.  And at 16″ wide it’s a reasonable size so I can work easily with the details and the color.  Working the layout wasn’t as bad as it might seem but it did take a while.  The purchaser gave me a 7.7 mb file so I easily made up my enlargements and the angle for the front door was great.

This one will be colored with the pastels.  It’s a pretty red brick with darker accent ones mixed in.  It reminds me of my favorite brick – the one I had on our previous home – minus the creamy ones.  It has white trim and plenty of landscaping.  I’m almost done with the pastels and will ship it out tomorrow so the finished product will be posted next.  So far I am pleased.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. foresterartist
    Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:35:47

    Ruth, You do an amazing job on these pen and inks.

    Reply

  2. Cindy D.
    Dec 15, 2013 @ 12:58:29

    Holy cow all those bricks! My goodness. AND shingles. Amazing! My favorite kind of thing you do. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Cindy D.
    Dec 15, 2013 @ 12:59:05

    I really dig the style of your trees, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

