Number 4 out of 5

Little inked house

Little inked house

This has been a busy holiday season for me.  I received commissions for 4 architecturals and one pet portrait in the last 6 weeks. I’m happy to say I’m starting on the last one.

But first, this.  The father of the purchaser is selling his long time family home and his children wanted to give him a memento.  As with the others, I unfortunately had difficulty with the photo quality.  There was a line of trees directly in front so they had a hard time getting a shot which included the front door without using a wide angle lens. I ended up having to use a combination of a real estate listing photo and the the ones they took.

Black and white has its own difficulties compared with color.  I have to indicate the shadows and even the tone of the house without the aid of the pastels and yet not make it too dark.  I am still considering how to finish this.  The house is a medium green with dark shutters. I want to show that it is not white without losing it all in the foliage.  I haven’t decided, but maybe I’ll use a light grey wash.

I’d like to get this out tomorrow and get started on the last one.  It’s a 14″ x 10″ color so it will take a bit more time than this one.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Dec 08, 2013 @ 13:04:02

    Hooray for lots of holiday orders! This is looking terrific. I always like lots of trees and foliage, and this one has such a nice variety!

    Reply

  2. DixCutler
    Dec 08, 2013 @ 13:59:35

    I have a fondness for black and white. This is looking great, Ruth. Also, how is the puppy dping?

    Reply

  3. ruthsartwork
    Dec 08, 2013 @ 18:25:28

    It is a nice change of pace.

    Alex is doing well. Unfortunately, I don’t think we are going to be able to keep him. Even at 4-5 months he has turned out to a far more dominant dog than was first apparent. He is still very malleable as a puppy and I want him to be able to succeed. We are working with a German shepherd rescue organization to help him get to a place where the people are more used to dealing with this type of behavior, especially in a dog that will end up upwards of 100 lbs. I just don’t feel confident enough in my skills as a dog trainer to do this and bring him to his full potential. It makes me sad but I know ultimately it will be the best for him. I guess I am his transition home instead of his permanent home.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

