Ready for the mail

Th doctor's office

Th doctor’s office

I managed to send out this drawing today.  My commission gifts purchasers this year have been so thoughtful in getting them ordered early so I have had a relatively easy time getting them out for the holidays.

This was more of a challenge than it appears.  The stonework was a multicolor of off white, brown and grey.  The gable shingles were a taupe and the siding (which came out white in the picture) was a very light shade of the taupe.  The handicap parking was its own special blue.  And then the sign.  White or gold on black is doubly hard.  Between my eyesight and my shaky hands on little letters, it was quite the effort.  I finally went out and bought some small quill pens and white ink to redo the lettering.

On the best note, the woman I did the dog portrait for got it today and loved it. Hooray and whew at the same time.  And I got another house commission yesterday.  It’s just an 8×10 black and white so it will go quite quickly and I should have it out by next Monday.  That’s good because I am supposed to get another 14×10 color in the next few days.  This will be my best ever Christmas season since I opened my etsy store in 2010.  That one I may have to rush a bit to keep ahead of the holiday postal crush, but I’m not worried yet.  LOL

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 21:10:19

    Wow it looks terrific! And wow, those tiny letters! Congratulations on all the orders!

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 21:20:35

    Those letters drove my eyes crazy. LOL I’m going to be busy for sure, but in a good way.

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 21:59:54

    This is wonderful, Ruth. Yes, tiny letters are hard. I like the blue of the handicap parking balancing the blue in the sky. That makes this quite colorful!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Dec 04, 2013 @ 22:06:32

      That’s the first time I ever had to add handicap parking blue to a picture. LOL You’re right, it does bring down the sky.. I hadn’t thought of that. The letters about drove me crazy until I thought of getting the white ink. White on black is never easy.

      Reply

  4. foresterartist
    Dec 07, 2013 @ 18:46:13

    Very nice Ruth.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

