Surprise, surprise, surprise

Chillin' with me in the studio

Chillin’ with me in the studio

On Monday, the day didn’t go quite as planned, but in a good way for a change. I started the day out dogless and ended up with a new member of the household.  When we came back from an appointment about noon, he was hiding around a trash can at the base of the driveway and by the end of the day he was in our house.

Supervising was hard work

Supervising art projects is hard work

He appears to be about 4 months old and is smart as a whip.  He knocked down the baby gate we are using to keep him occasionally enclosed in the laundry area once and after that he has respected it.  After one evening, he will willingly go into his crate when he is told to. He learned to fetch his ball and give it to me in less than 10 minutes, once he figured out I would throw it again for him.  One or two noes have been enough to keep him away from things I don’t want him in, although I don’t quite trust that in such a young dog.  He is going to be a big one – far larger than any dog I had thought to get, so he needs to be very well behaved.

We have asked around and no one has claimed him.  Here’s to hoping he can stay.  And I think another dog portrait may be in order.

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. foresterartist
    Nov 13, 2013 @ 13:48:39

    He’s quite a handsome fella. Looks like a keeper!

    Reply

  2. DixCutler
    Nov 13, 2013 @ 13:53:58

    Dogs who choose you are the best!

    Reply

  3. coastalartglass
    Nov 13, 2013 @ 14:25:09

    Ruth, what a handsome Shepherd. We had two German Shepherds at the same time, one came from a breeder and one we rescued from the streets of Brooklyn. Brook the one we rescued was always beholden to us and we formed a very special bond. Lucky you…

    Reply

  4. parkerp2013
    Nov 13, 2013 @ 14:53:36

    A handsome young lad indeed! You already sound like you would be a great owner.

    Reply

  5. Cindy D.
    Nov 13, 2013 @ 19:35:21

    He is adorable! But I hope his owner doesn’t come along when you’re already attached. If he is healthy he must have been taken care of? That’s a tough one. Either way, you sound ready for another dog!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Nov 13, 2013 @ 21:23:19

      We have called the neighbors who know everyone around and no one knows anything. I called the animal shelter too. He could not have been there long or we would have seen him when we went out. He was not very dirty, so it is possible he was dumped for some unknown reason.

      Reply

  6. Jaci
    Nov 13, 2013 @ 21:10:56

    What a sweetie! I hope I can meet him in person soon!

    Reply

  7. tomsimard
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 01:13:11

    What a great surprise!

    Reply

  8. lesliepaints
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 11:42:20

    Wow! He actually looks like the puppy stage of a purebred longhaired shepherd. I know that’s a longshot but he sure does. I hope you and he have found each other and it is meant to be. Most people would have just saved him long enough to make the phone call and have him picked up. All kinds of praises for what you are doing. Even if an owner shows up? This dog is better off and so are you. Hugs to you for doing this and a huge hug to this lucky dog!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Nov 15, 2013 @ 12:21:45

      We took him to the vet yesterday and he suggested that Belgian tervuren might be a possibility too. I don’t know. His coloring is shepherd but the face is kind of wooly looking and I haven’t seen many young ones We may not know until he is grown. I have moments of panic when I think of how big he will be – 35 lbs at 4 months. He will have to be very well behaved and it’s been a long time since we had a dog. I think his purpose is to move us out of our comfort zone and ours is to give him a home. At least he seems to have a good head on his shoulders. I hope we can do well by him.

      Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Nov 15, 2013 @ 14:50:57

      I looked up some pictures on the net and I think it’s a possibility.

      Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Nov 17, 2013 @ 22:30:49

      I think the food bills may end up about the same. LOL

      Reply

  9. midnightcoiler
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 13:46:11

    He’s a beautiful dog- very handsome. I like the wisps of long fur. Beautiful face and markings. So glad he came into your life- it was meant to be!

    Reply

  10. ruthsartwork
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 14:22:30

    Yes, he is quite handsome. We’re glad he’s here too.

    Reply

  11. Kristin Maija Peterson
    Nov 17, 2013 @ 14:24:04

    So what will you name him? I know, not a good idea to name him until you know he is officially yours to keep. I hope you can. It sounds like he is building a wonderful rapport with you and it would be a shame to break that with him being so young and impressionable. I have a theory when an animal comes into your like as this big puppy did, it is meant to be. Keep us all posted!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Nov 17, 2013 @ 19:14:30

      We named him Alex. Believe it or not, John and I actually thought of it independently, so he must have told us. After a week, I think he is here to stay. If he had run away, he couldn’t be from far since he was not dirty or matted. You would think if he were wanted, someone would have come looking. We’re guessing he was dumped at the bottom of our driveway. And I think he did come into our lives purposefully. I have been having “dog thoughts” for a while now. LOL

      Reply

  12. parkerp2013
    May 02, 2014 @ 13:07:58

    Gorgeous puppy Ruth. Hope you get to keep him.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

