Key West this time

Key West corner

Key West corner

Once again, I have been forced to endure the folly of the time change.  I sure miss the years when Indiana sat it out.  I just see no reason for it these days.

Anyway, after the last watercolor architectural, I wanted to try another smallish one.  I thought it had turned out fairly well, so I upped the size a bit and went from there.  I’m going to sneak up on the 14×10 my client wants in the spring.  I have lots of pictures from a trip to Key West. Florida, years ago and I sorted through them, looking for interesting house shapes and foliage.  I like the vibrant colors mixed with the semi-tropical landscaping.

This one had some of the most bent palm trees I have ever seen.  They almost seemed to be dancing in the yard.  The shutters of the house are on the pinkish side against gray clapboards.  There wasn’t much in the way of flowers, but I may decided to put in a few more.  How much color I’ll add will depend on how I like the way the house turns out.   The shutters are pretty loud in and of themselves and I want to have some cohesion in the picture.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Nov 03, 2013 @ 11:25:16

    Beautiful detail! I just love that balcony. Looking forward to the color! I think the landscaping will be really neat.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Nov 03, 2013 @ 11:31:22

    I like the palm trees being so wonky. The colors are pretty wild too and I will be starting it today.

    Reply

  3. DixCutler
    Nov 03, 2013 @ 13:10:01

    It’s cool the way those palms kind of frame part of the house.

    Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Nov 04, 2013 @ 10:49:55

    What is super interesting about those dancing palms is that they create a heart shape that embraces this home very nicely! The linework is so exceptional!

    Reply

  5. Gray Dawster
    Nov 11, 2013 @ 05:41:55

    With hindsight I have seen both the sketched
    piece and the painting, and I must admit to liking
    both. You have a true gift my friend 🙂

    Andro

    Reply

Leave a Reply

